Scholarships: Fall 2019

Shikha Patel
SOMA Foundation Chairperson
Rowan University School Of Osteopathic Medicine

The Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA) Foundation is a student-managed, non-profit organization specializing in providing scholarships for current Osteopathic medical students who are members of National SOMA.

Our Fall Scholarship and Grant cycle is available to students from every stage in their educational career (OMS I-IV). The available scholarships, respective deadlines, and application forms are detailed below.

If you are interested in applying for a scholarship, please visit the SOMA Foundation ​website​ for more information. Questions can be directed to Abbey Santanello, ​Director of Scholarships and Grants​.

Best of luck to all applicants!

Dr. Robert S. Juhasz, DO, Innovative Leadership in Osteopathic Medicine Scholarship
Deadline: September 21st, 2020 11:59 PM EST
Sponsored by former AOA President Dr. Robert S. Juhasz, this $1,000.00 scholarship awards a student who has taken steps to better the healthcare field with innovative and creative methods that not only benefit the patients but the physicians as well. 

Women in Medicine Scholarship
Deadline: September 21st, 2020 11:59 PM EST
Sponsored by the National Association of Osteopathic Foundation, the Woman in Medicine Scholarship looks to award a student $1,000.00 who represents a growing population within healthcare and encourage the pursuit of leadership and equality within the workplace.

New Member Scholarship
Deadline: September 21st, 2020 11:59 PM EST
The Advocates for the AOA believes that the future of Osteopathic Medicine begins with its students and have sponsored (5) $500.00 scholarships for Osteopathic students who have registered with National SOMA during the 2020-2021 Academic year and who show potential leadership skills within the field of osteopathic medicine.

Community and Preventive Medicine Scholarship
Deadline: September 21st, 2020 11:59 PM EST
The Osteopathic philosophy encourages the treatment of our patients through a whole-body experience, taking account for matters of the mind, body, and spirit. Osteopathic physicians bring this idea into their practice of community and preventive medicine where the philosophy thrives and allows a better quality of life for their patients. The Osteopathic Founders Foundation looks to acknowledge students who have a passion for working in community health and look to advance within Preventive Medicine with this $1,000.00 award.

Humanism in Medicine Scholarship
Deadline: September 21st, 2020 11:59 PM EST
Humanism in Medicine Scholarship was created in remembrance of eight Osteopathic physicians who tragically lost their lives in the pursuit of improving patient care. This scholarship is a chance to highlight a student that exemplifies what it means to be an osteopathic physician. We look to award students who show compassion, leadership, and enthusiasm for medicine, much like our fellow Osteopathic physicians who came before us, with this $1,000.00 award.

Ed and Melissa Loniewski Medically Underserved Scholarship
Deadline: September 21st, 2020 11:59 PM EST
One Osteopathic Medical student will receive a scholarship of up to $3,000 donated by Ed and Melissa Loniewski for completing a medically underserved experience nationally or internationally. The experience can be any time length, and can be completed in any area of medicine, including primary care as well as specialties and subspecialties.

Chapter Grant Program
Deadline: Rolling Applications
The Student Osteopathic Medical Association (SOMA) Foundation has created the SOMA Foundation Grant Program to promote osteopathic medicine on a local level. SOMA Foundation is able to financially support individual SOMA chapter projects that promote the mission of SOMA and the AOA while furthering an understanding of osteopathic medicine in our communities through the generous support of Foundation donors. Awards are limited to $500 per school to allow each SOMA chapter the opportunity to take advantage of this program. However, there is only a maximum budget of $3,000 per year and awards are given on a first-come, first-served basis.